Coyne Bans Another

Ever wonder why the busy comments section of Coyne’s blog is just an echo chamber?
Wonder no more:

Piqued by our interaction on the Prospect article, poor old Jerry Coyne bought Questions of Truth and then tried to take pot-shots from his blog (and here, here, here). Of course he could only do this by taking responses completely out of context, thus making himself look rather stupid/dishonest. Eventually he resorted to blocking my comments since he was hopelessly losing the argument.

I’ve long noticed that Gnu atheists like to ban speech they disagree with.

This entry was posted in Jerry Coyne, New Atheism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Coyne Bans Another

  1. Bilbo says:

    I’m not positive, but I think I was banned from Jerry Coyne’s blog. On the other hand, UD recently purged a lot of commenters for not passing their “moon or no moon” test. And well, there was TT….

  2. eveysolara says:

    Recently I saw you Calling for the banning of someone over at biologos

    http://biologos.org/blog/understanding-evolution-the-evolutionary-origins-of-ic-part-4#comments

  3. Bilbo says:

    Yes, I think melanogaster was posting with the sole intention of slinging unsupported nasty accusations at Behe. If he had been willing to support his accusations I wouldn’t have called for his banning.

  4. Bilbo says:

    Thanks, evey. I didn’t realize that melano had responded. I just posted a response.

  5. Michael says:

    I’m not positive, but I think I was banned from Jerry Coyne’s blog. On the other hand, UD recently purged a lot of commenters for not passing their “moon or no moon” test.

    Small potatoes compared to the purge that happened at Dawkins forum. Anyway, I rarely read UD, but when I have, I noticed several dissenting voices in the comments section. Contrast that to Coyne’s blog, where dissent almost never exists.

    Look, let’s just put it this way. When it comes to tolerating dissenting viewpoints, Coyne’s blog is no better than UD,

  6. eveysolara says:

    Bilbo I thought you didn’t believe in banning critics. Looks like everyone has their reasons…

  7. Bilbo says:

    Coyn’ts blog is probably a lot worse than UD, but as evey just pointed out to me, most of us live in glass houses.

  8. Bilbo says:

    Coyne’s. (Coyn’ts?)

  9. djockovic says:

    Coyne appears to block everyone who disagrees if they post more than a few comments. http://all-ontologies-blazing.blogspot.co.uk/2012/12/sartre-on-why-evolution-is-true.html

Leave a Reply

