Gnus chase other Gnu off the Internet

Because of all the abuse and harassment from other Gnu atheists, Jen McCreight, who founded the idea of atheism plus, has felt the need to suspend all blogging activity.

In the meantime, PZ Myers is trying to peddle some Gnu Woo:

 One thing we do have to move beyond is this provincial idea that sexism and harassment are just a consequence of a few jerks within a new movement: it’s not. It’s widespread. I think atheist culture is actually better than the norm,

Oh please, there is NO evidence to think atheist culture is actually better than the norm.  PZ, like some god-walloper, just wants badly to believe this.

 

Look, Jen McCreight tried to delude herself about this, but then bravely acknowledged the truth:

I can’t count how many times I publicly stressed that the atheist/skeptical movement, while not perfect, is still a safer place for women and other minorities.

But now I recognize that I was trying to convince myself that this is true.

I don’t feel safe as a woman in this community – and I feel less safe than I do as a woman in science, or a woman in gaming, or hell, as a woman walking down the fucking sidewalk.

She tried to do something about it with her “third wave” and that resulted in her quitting the whole thing, at least for the time being.

Oh, and have you noticed people like Richard Dawkins, Jerry Coyne, and Sam Harris have ignored all this?  They are happy to take some leadership position when it comes to getting money or getting noticed.  But when it comes time to actually solve a very real problem, they are MIA.

This entry was posted in New Atheism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gnus chase other Gnu off the Internet

  1. apollyon911 says:

    Makes sense.

    Aren’t atheists largely socially challenged (older) men? Socially challenged means “not appealing to women”. I.e. sex starved. Hence the harassment.

    One excellent description of an atheist convention was this: “have you ever been to a Star Trek convention? Same thing. Only older.”

    Let the implosion continue…

  2. Michael says:

    That could be part of it, but I think it goes much deeper.

    Mark 7:20-23: And he said, That which cometh out of the man, that defileth the man.For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders,Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness: All these evil things come from within, and defile the man.

    Atheists not only deny God, but they deny man’s sinful nature. Yet we can see from their implosion that their denial of sin is wishful thinking. They tried to control sin with policies, arguments, and attempts at public shaming. All of these are impotent in the face of sin. So their only solution is to run away from it by trying to set up some new movement/club. And as we can see, that is falling apart.

    In the future, I will write some essays that explain why I have been focusing on the Gnu implosion. Put simply, it is evidence for the truth of Christianity. The Gnus claim there is no evidence for Christianity. Yet they don’t realize they ARE evidence for the truth of Christianity.

  3. apollyon911 says:

    Yes, very good point. It’s all there for them to see but first they would have to a) open a Bible and b) take it seriously. But, they are too intellectually superior to fall for that.

    I think the atheists would be wise to read Mark 3.

    22And the scribes which came down from Jerusalem said, He hath Beelzebub, and by the prince of the devils casteth he out devils. 23And he called them unto him, and said unto them in parables, How can Satan cast out Satan? 24And if a kingdom be divided against itself, that kingdom cannot stand. 25And if a house be divided against itself, that house cannot stand. 26And if Satan rise up against himself, and be divided, he cannot stand, but hath an end

    Pretty straightforward…

  4. Bilbo says:

    In the future, I will write some essays that explain why I have been focusing on the Gnu implosion. Put simply, it is evidence for the truth of Christianity. The Gnus claim there is no evidence for Christianity. Yet they don’t realize they ARE evidence for the truth of Christianity.

    Looking forward to reading those, Mike.

  5. stcordova says:

    “it is evidence for the truth of Christianity.”

    Inspiring to hear you say these things, Michael.

    I almost fell out of my chair. For the first time in 9 years, I actually saw you quote the Bible!

  6. “In the future, I will write some essays that explain why I have been focusing on the Gnu implosion. Put simply, it is evidence for the truth of Christianity. The Gnus claim there is no evidence for Christianity. Yet they don’t realize they ARE evidence for the truth of Christianity.”

    Well, that sounds like a hilarious argument. Ignore all the examples of situations where mostly nonreligious groups and institutions function well, and take the fights of people who self-selected themselves for combativeness in the first place not as evidence that combativeness=combativeness, but instead combativeness=evidence for Christianity. That oughta be good.

  7. Michael says:

    Wow. So according to you, Jen McCreight gave up blogging because of Gnu “combativeness.” Here is Jen’s description of this “combativeness”

    Instead of feeling gleeful anticipation when writing up a post, I feel nothing but dread. There’s a group of people out there (google the ironic term FtBullies to find them) devoted to hating me, my friends, and even people I’m just vaguely associated with. I can no longer write anything without my words getting twisted, misrepresented, and quotemined. I wake up every morning to abusive comments, tweets, and emails about how I’m a slut, prude, ugly, fat, feminazi, retard, bitch, and cunt (just to name a few). If I block people who are twisting my words or sending verbal abuse, I receive an even larger wave of nonsensical hate about how I’m a slut, prude, feminazi, retard, bitch, cunt who hates freedom of speech (because the Constitution forces me to listen to people on Twitter). This morning I had to delete dozens of comments of people imitating my identity making graphic, lewd, degrading sexual comments about my personal life. In the past, multiple people have threatened to contact my employer with “evidence” that I’m a bad scientist (because I’m a feminist) to try to destroy my job. I’m constantly worried that the abuse will soon spread to my loved ones.
    I just can’t take it anymore.

    http://freethoughtblogs.com/blaghag/2012/09/goodbye-for-now/

    Nick, can you explain why you are trying to spin such hate, abuse and bullying by watering it down as mere “combativeness?” That oughta be good.

  8. You should go look at internet gaming chats, or youtube comment threads. These are the hives of scum and villainy of the internet, populated by stereotypical 14-year old boys and people who think/talk like them. The Gnus made the mistake of making being crude-n-rude almost a policy, and as a result attracted some segments from the hives. And also drove away the people with a sense of proportion about stuff (like the “accommodationists”). Later they turned their guns from theism to other issues, and, boom, perma-flame war.

    It’s a looooooooong walk from the above predictable dynamics to grand metaphysical statements about the “truth of Christianity” or whatever. It’s hilariously overwrought.

  9. Michael says:

    It’s a looooooooong walk from the above predictable dynamics to grand metaphysical statements about the “truth of Christianity” or whatever. It’s hilariously overwrought.

    “Or whatever.” It figures.

    Look, if you are going to try to play the role of honest skeptic, then you need to make an honest effort to deal with the claims that are made. I wrote,

    “The Gnus claim there is no evidence for Christianity. Yet they don’t realize they ARE evidence for the truth of Christianity.”

    Okay, here is a Christian truth:

    Mark 7:20-23: And he said, That which cometh out of the man, that defileth the man.For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders,Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness: All these evil things come from within, and defile the man.

    It is rather obvious to me that this Gnu behavior confirms what Jesus taught. Their behavior is thus evidence for the truth of Christianity.

    Then again, what would you count as evidence for the truth of Christianity? Do you think like Gnus and creationists in that you need a sensational gap?

Leave a Reply

