Only Because of You

I think this one of the best Christian worship songs from modern times is Only Because of You.  However, I’m note sure it is intended to be. It’s by Rodger Hodgson, who sang and wrote many of Supertramp’s biggest hits. Yes, Supertramp. Nevertheless, consider the lyrics:

And so we sail towards the dawn
Joining those who gently mourn for you
It’s only because of you
Friends may come and friends may go
The only friend I need to know is you
It’s only because of you
Mighty castles, lonely kings
Hear the ragged children sing it’s you
It’s only because of you
He who smiles at lofty schemes
Stems the tide of broken dreams is you
It’s only because of you
It’s only because of you

And when the storms have died away
Only truth will live to say it’s you
It’s only because of you
And when the darkness flies away
Only love will shine to say it’s true
It’s only because of you
It’s only because of you

Below the fold is the song. Get by yourself, close your eyes and listen.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Only Because of You

  1. BillT says:

    I think these lyrics are also evocative and the melody a hymn:

    In the attics of my life, full of cloudy dreams unreal.
    Full of tastes no tongue can know, and lights no eyes can see.
    When there was no ear to hear, you sang to me.

    I have spent my life seeking all thats still unsung.
    Bent my ear to hear the tune, and closed my eyes to see.
    When there was no strings to play, you played to me.

    In the book of loves own dream, where all the print is blood.
    Where all the pages are my days, and all the lights grow old.
    When I had no wings to fly, you flew to me, you flew to me.

    In the secret space of dreams, where I dreaming lay amazed.
    When the secrets all are told, and the petals all unfold.
    When there was no dream of mine, you dreamed of me.

    Songwriters: GARCIA, JERRY / HUNTER, ROBERT

    Artist: The Grateful Dead

Leave a Reply

