Glass Houses

As I am sure you know, the Gnu Atheists love to portray Christians as being “anti-women.”  Yet in reality, the New Atheists seem to be “anti-women.”   Never forget the candid description from a female Gnu activist:

 Over the past several years, I’ve been groped, grabbed, touched in other nonconsensual ways, told I can expect to be raped, told I’m a whore, a slut, a bitch, a prude, a dyke, a cunt, a twat, told I should watch my back at conferences, told I’m too ugly to be raped, told I don’t have a say in my own treatment because I’ve posed for sexy photos, told I should get a better headshot because that one doesn’t convey how sexy I am in person, told I deserve to be raped – by skeptics and atheists. All by skeptics and atheists. Constantly.

 by skeptics and atheists.

All by skeptics and atheists.

Constantly.

Of course, this could be just one anecdote, right?  Maybe not.  Consider the findings of a recent survey of those who are part of the Gnu movement:

Regardless of gender, all respondents who are or have been involved in the secular movement are asked: Have you ever felt unwelcome, discriminated against, or harmed in the secular movement? Women outnumber men 62%/34% in responding “Yes.” It is worth noting that women do not outnumber men when asked the same question about religious organizations with which they’ve been associated. It appears they are less comfortable in secular groups than in the churches they left.

In case you missed that, let me repeat it:

It appears they are less comfortable in secular groups than in the churches they left.

But don’t worry.  PZ Myers is on it:

 You have a choice of a few responses to reality: one is to deny it, one is to implicitly approve it, and one is to try and change it. Put me in the last category.

You can watch him “try and change it” below the fold.

 

This entry was posted in New Atheism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

