Dawkins Bedtime Stories

I think we all knew that Richard Dawkins was quite the narcissist. But even that knowledge did not prepare me for what Andrew Brown recently told us:

But alongside the intellectual force and drive, wrapped round it and giving it shape, as histones give shape to DNA, came Dawkins’s shadow side – the fact that he is his own greatest fan and believer. You may think the competition for this position is too great for there to be any single winner but I think it’s safe to say that not even the most devoted of his groupies have their partner read out loud from his books at bedtime, as he does.

Narcissism on steroids! This is not only hilarious, but it’s just downright weird. The leader of the New Atheist movement not only has his wife read to him at bedtime, but he has her read his own books. The Gnu Atheist leader likes to fall asleep to the sound of his own words.

Of course, the Dawkins Fans are once again having to circle the wagon. Jerry Coyne has an explanation that is just as funny as the revelation:

What is that about? It seems that what Brown dislikes is not the book, but Dawkins. And, as almost everyone knows, Dawkins’s wife, Lalla Ward, is a trained actress, and has helped coach him about how to read in public by reading his books out loud (she also, Richard says, has helped him realize that good writing should sound mellifluous when you read it aloud).

LOL! So not only does he love to hear the sound of his own words, but he’s actually being coached on how to read his own words. I guess he needs to know how to pull off the best dramatic reading of his own words. Yep, that clears everything up. For not only do narcissists love themselves immensely, they are extremely concerned about how others perceive them. I told you he thinks like a Hollywood celebrity.

This entry was posted in Richard Dawkins and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dawkins Bedtime Stories

  1. Crude says:

    Narcissism on steroids! This is not only hilarious, but it’s just downright weird. The leader of the New Atheist movement not only has his wife read to him at bedtime, but he has her read his own books. The Gnu Atheist leader likes to fall asleep to the sound of his own words.

    Is this some kind of joke? Because at that point he’s not just narcissistic, he’s actually kind of a freaking fruitloop.

  2. TFBW says:

    I’m almost in agreement with Coyne on this one. When I write something intended for public consumption, I always read it back to myself, out loud. If I, as the author, fumble over it, then it simply isn’t clear enough, and needs improvement. It’s a good way to test whether your writing flows well.

    Having said that, however, this is something I do prior to publication. I’ll occasionally re-read something I wrote in the past, either for reference, or just to see if it has stood the test of time. I might even give it the read-out-loud test again, but this is exceedingly rare. I certainly do not make a habit of steeping myself in my own written works, or getting someone else to read them out loud to me. And, “mellifluous?” Seriously? My pretentiousness detector went off the scale with that remark. On the other hand, a generous measure of sugar helps the sophistry go down.

    I haven’t read Coyne’s rant in any detail yet, but it looks pretty funny. I agree that The Selfish Gene is not an undergraduate text, but that’s because I think Brown got it right with the description, “pop science writing”. Coyne, on the other hand, “quails” at that description. So what does he think it is? A scientific master-work? A cornerstone of twentieth century biology? As if my opinion of the field wasn’t jaundiced enough already. He calls it, “a seminal work,” but what later work has been laid on its foundations? Has it advanced the science of biology, or atheism as a socio-political movement?

  3. The Deuce says:

    Mike, how can you possibly be so heartless as to ridicule such pure love and devotion?

Leave a Reply

