Questions

I was asked a couple of questions.

a) How can god be proven or disproven theoretically, on a purely logical basis?

I don’t think God can be proven or disproven. I think reality is far too ambiguous and the human mind is far too flawed to accomplish either. I see nothing that forces belief or disbelief on us. I think that in the end, theism or atheism, is a choice. It can be an informed choice, where there are reasons to believe or disbelieve, but it remains ultimately a choice. And, it is a choice that defines us.

b) How can you convince an atheist that there is a god?

That’s not up to me. In my opinion, each of us must make our own decisions. For it is our choice, our life, our fate. My only suggestion is that when one decides whether or not God exists, they do it apart from all the noisy chatter of the world. That is, they make that decision with much contemplation and introspection.

If you choose to be an atheist, that is fine with me. I only speak out against the militant strain of atheism that is trying to demonize religious people as part of its culture war.

This entry was posted in atheism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Questions

  1. Here is a logical proof of the existence of God:

    1. Cause and effect is a basic principle of our universe.

    2. If we follow all effects and their causes back and back we arrive at the First Cause.

    3. That First Cause is God.

    That is the Cosmological Argument reduced to a 3 sentence syllogism. I would be happy to fill in any blanks.

    Here is a proof that atheism is a faith-based belief and therefore irrational:

    1. Atheists say that atheism cannot be proven.

    2. Faith is the belief in that which cannot be proven.

    3. Therefore, atheism is a faith-based belief.

    Since the existence of God can be proven through reason, atheism is the choice to reject reason.

  2. TFBW says:

    @silenceofmind:
    The first argument is not a logical syllogism: it’s just three sentences. The second argument fails to state that atheism is a belief in its premises, although the conclusion relies on that assertion. As recently discussed, many Modern Atheists would take umbrage at the suggestion that atheism is a belief; they assert that it is a lack of belief (whether or not that makes coherent sense).

  3. G. Rodrigues says:

    As someone who thinks the existence of God can indeed be proven, what impresses me the most is the mistrust of reason in general, as in: “I think reality is far too ambiguous and the human mind is far too flawed to accomplish either.” I can even imagine how the dialectics might proceed: you would charge me with a naive optimism in the powers of human reason, and I would charge you with self-contradiction, but somehow I suspect that this would end up in some deep theological waters.

Leave a Reply

