Richard Carrier Accuses Ex-Lover of Harassment and Claims He Will Sue PZ Myers

Blogger Richard Carrier, champion of the Mythers and advocate for polyamorphory, is firing his heavy artilery at his old allies.  Here is a sampling of Carrier’s latest round of accusations and complaints from his new blog:

In actual fact, the “Skepticon staffer” in question is Lauren Lane, an ex-lover of mine, who has indicated a strong dislike of me for breaking up with her, and who has harassed me in the past. And she is the one who wrote the Skepticon Inc. announcement. That she doesn’t inform the public of that enormous conflict of interest is deeply unprofessional. That the Skepticon board of directors allowed her to do that is deeply unprofessional. Likewise that she didn’t mention that the incident she is complaining about did not occur at Skepticon. Likewise that it occurred in the context of an on-and-off year-long relationship between us.

Witnesses and documents will both attest that many years ago Lauren Lane initiated a sexual relationship with me, at a Skepticon event she was running, at which I was a speaker. And that she did so without asking my consent, but just presuming my consent. In front of witnesses, who can attest to this fact. We had flirted for years, such that I am certain Lane had a sound belief in my interest, but I have to point out: I would never act that way myself without politely asking verbally first if it was something desired. I would be rightly disparaged for doing what she did.

We continued our sexual affair for many days over several months. At the time I was cheating on my wife with her, with Lane’s full knowledge. After some months I started to feel conflicted about cheating on my wife and told Lane we couldn’t continue, but we could remain friends. She did not accept my wishes. She harassed me repeatedly with attempts to persuade me to continue our relationship. I repeatedly and explicitly told her to stop. I explained that she needed to take no for an answer, and that I was in an emotional place and she needed to leave me alone for a while. But she persisted. My only remaining recourse was to block all communication with her and physically avoid her. Even then she attempted to bypass my wishes, by using a mutual friend as a proxy to relay her messages (a friend who in fact has full knowledge of all these events and can attest to them). Her behavior was consistently boundary-pushing and harassing. I never engaged in any such behavior toward her. I never pushed against any boundary she stated to me. I never harassed her.

Months later I had confessed my cheating to my wife and my wife and I began an open marriage arrangement. I then sent a single electronic message to Lane, renewing the sexual banter we had engaged in while together, based on her last communications with me, in which she had asked me to remove the barriers to our having a relationship and start again. But because I had been forced to cut off communications due to her harassment of me, I was unaware of things that had happened to her and her feelings in that intervening time. In that context what I wrote to her was really awful (and not something I’ve ever done again, with anyone).

First, it was New Atheist vs. A+ Atheist.  Now the A+ atheists are battling each other. Just more evidence that shows if we could only rid the world of religion, the flowers of reason would bloom around the world.

 

This entry was posted in atheism, atheist wars, New Atheism, social justice atheism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Richard Carrier Accuses Ex-Lover of Harassment and Claims He Will Sue PZ Myers

  1. TFBW says:

    New word spotted!

    polyamorphory – a school of sexual conduct in which “more” is “better”, but the exact boundaries of acceptable behaviour are indistinct and subjective.

  2. Dhay says:

    > Witnesses and documents will both attest that many years ago Lauren Lane initiated a sexual relationship with me, at a Skepticon event she was running, at which I was a speaker. And that she did so without asking my consent, but just presuming my consent. In front of witnesses, who can attest to this fact.

    An odd couple of sentences. In terms of British law — I have no knowledge of US law — this reads as, she raped him.

    In front of witnesses.

  3. Julian says:

    I was kinda’ wondering what he meant by that, too, Dhay. This whole passage is pretty hot and steamy for this little hobbit. Where can I read more?

  4. Henry Toor says:

    For a professional writer, Richard’s ‘account’ is poorly written and as some have pointed out, doesn’t really make sense. Together with the comment that he blocked a woman because she was harassing him when the affair was over,, we are then expected to believe that once his wife was aware of his lies and deceit, he then initiated contact again with this woman, so we must ask, how bad really was this so-called harassment? This sounds more like a teenager making excused for his infidelity, and claiming he is a victim when in reality it is all those around him that have been hurt. If I were Richard I’d stop digging and the litigation, and get back to what he does best, or given his love life, what he does second best, and write and speak about topics he is cock sure about, not ones his cock is unsure about.

Leave a Reply

