What happened to the Reason Whisperer?

From January 9, 2014:

It’s possible to talk people out of faith and into reason. The proposed program will show viewers how to do just that.

Dr. Peter Boghossian, author of the best selling book, A Manual for Creating Atheists, will go into the community and engage a wide variety of people in conversations designed to disabuse them of faith, superstition, and irrationality, and help them embrace reason.

These are conversations with real people. There are no stooges and no actors.

Interventions will be recorded and analyzed. Then, post-production, Dr. Boghossian will guide viewers through a step-by-step breakdown of the techniques he employs.

That’s about two and a half years ago.  Is Project Reason producing it?

On Dec 19, 2013 Boghossian wrote:

Coming soon to a screen near you. Buckle in.

Some Gnu took him seriously:

32f3ca2800000578-3529274-image-m-36_1460078357575

Below the fold is the current photo:

p9202220

 

This entry was posted in atheism, New Atheism, Peter Boghossian, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What happened to the Reason Whisperer?

  1. TFBW says:

    His YouTube channel hasn’t seen an update in over two years, either. Not that I’m criticising him for it, but I think he needs to try harder if he wants to sustain any sort of celebrity status achieved by publishing a provocative pro-atheism book.

  2. stcordova says:

    “Below the fold is the current photo:”

    Hahaha!

    “disabuse them of faith, superstition, and irrationality, and help them embrace reason.”

    Boghossian doesn’t know as much about science and reason as he thinks. He can’t extrapolate his small sample size about reality and presume to declare for the rest of the world there is no God. His lack of sensing God isn’t to be confused with the non-existence of God. GNU ignorance is fueling GNU arrogance. Reminds me of:

    https://shadowtolight.wordpress.com/2016/08/05/when-ignorance-meets-arrogance/

  3. stcordova says:

    A Manual for Creating Atheists by Boghossian:
    Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #80,390 in Books ”

    “On the Historicity of Jesus: Why We Might Have Reason for Doubt” by Richard Carrier
    Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #243,511

    Happy Atheist by PZ Myers:
    Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #699,553

    Cold Case Christianity by J Warner Wallace:
    Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,633

  4. stcordova says:

    I just commented on the reason whisperer’s facebook page. Sorry, couldn’t help myself. 🙂

  5. Doug says:

    Looks like Ray Comfort is suggesting that Boghossian would lose at his own game. How embarrassing!

  6. Crude says:

    I wonder how much bloopers footage they got of people telling Bog ‘Get lost you effing dweeb’ before they decided to just mothball this.

  7. Some gnu took him seriously: shows picture of person buckling up for “big event.”
    Below the fold is the current photo: shows picture of person’s skeleton.
    Priceless humor.
    Hey Michael, I have spent the last week and a half reading your posts, and I find them to be awesome. If only more people like you had the courage to call out fraudulent people and expose their true colors.
    I have debated atheists before, and most of them are the gnus you describe. Shocking, isn’t it?
    One in particular fits your description of a “dawkins minion.”
    When I was debating him, he constantly got on me for ridiculing dawkins. Apparently to him, like many other gnus, dawkins is of great intellect with nothing more than a passion for spreading reason and science. He described dawkins as a great thinker and honest individual. There were so many errors with his thinking that I didn’t even know where to begin to correct him (not that he would change his mind at all).
    Aside from his adoration of a false idol, he also saw religious people as, you guessed it, mentally ill individuals. So I asked for evidence to back his argument. I said show me a legit medical article that states religion is a mental illness, and the source could not be from a gnu blog. Of course, he dodges the question, and continues to rant me on with ad hominems instead of forming a constructive argument.
    He also holds the gnu thought that religious people were “brainwashed” by their parents before they were old enough to think for themselves. Of course, he had nothing to back that statement up, and also turned out to be wrong. Yes, I was born and raised in a Christian household. No, I was not indoctrinated. Sure, my parents made me go to church, but I paid no attention to the service and was mainly focused on how long it was till it was over. It wasn’t until my 18th birthday that I embraced my religion. So it wasn’t until I could think for myself that I started paying attention to my religion.
    Since he was playing the same gnu assumptions, I asked him why he thinks being atheist makes him intelligent. He replies with, “being atheist doesn’t make me intelligent, I just happen to be intelligent.” Uh-hu, sure. First, it is obvious he is lying. Second, none of his “arguments” could be described as intelligent.
    One of his most hilarious statements was the old, “you live in a cardboard box” insult. Really? We are resorting to that? And he says I should take him seriously. Give me a break.
    But the best part of all was his username. He goes by the username, “Truth and Justice.” Not kidding, that is his username. Reading his first comment to me, I can safely state he doesn’t speak the truth and he doesn’t encourage justice.
    I don’t know why I even bothered engaging in a debate with him, it just turned out like all the other theist vs. gnu debates.

  8. Shearer says:

    ROFLOL

  9. TFBW says:

    It turns out that not capitalising “Dawkins” grates on my nerves just as much as not capitalising “God”. I guess that makes me an equal-opportunity Grammar Nazi.

  10. TFBW says:

    Crude said:

    I wonder how much bloopers footage they got of people telling Bog ‘Get lost you effing dweeb’ before they decided to just mothball this.

    I believe that the correct mode of dismissal would be, “Bog Off.”

  11. Michael says:

    It turns out that not capitalising “Dawkins” grates on my nerves just as much as not capitalising “God”. I guess that makes me an equal-opportunity Grammar Nazi.

    But I likes it. For the Gnus who write “god” all the time, that is. I bet some of them won’t like dawkins, harris, and boghossian.

  12. Dhay says:

    I hear YouTube videos where Peter Boghossian’s surname is pronounced, not as if it had “hoss” in the middle, but instead as if it had “hose”.

    To British ears — American are famous for weird pronunciations, though usually bloodly-mindedly strictly phonetic ones, like “Cairo” becoming “Kah-ee-row” (says Bill Bryson), so I really would have expected “hoss” — that sounds pretentious, rather like the lead character in the BBC’s Keeping Up Appearances sitcom telling someone on the phone, “My name’s Hyacinth Bouquet … yes, Bouquet … I’ll spell it for you, B-U-C-K-E-T”.

Leave a Reply

