Atheist Thunderfoot Excoriates Richard Carrier

Since the topic is Richard Carrier, the video content is NSFW:

This entry was posted in atheist wars, Richard Carrier, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Atheist Thunderfoot Excoriates Richard Carrier

  1. Dhay says:

    At 4:30+ there’s a shot of the Skepticon 2015 lecture theatre; take a look; looks almost empty.

  2. stcordova says:

    Great entertainment!

  3. stcordova says:

    Thunderf00t referenced comments made by Carrier that are mostly scrubbed from the internet, except a few places. Here is the more full version which Thunderf00t quoted:

    “I like partners who are or who have been sex workers. I also like women who have or pursue a lot of partners or who love to boast of their sexual exploits, especially over wine or whiskey or equivalent. I’m not going to get all butt-hurt or angsty over how high Your Number is. It very much has the opposite effect on me.
    ..
    I am also planning to have a hotel room, and am comfortable sharing it platonically. Certainly I would enjoy sharing it non-platonically, but I don’t expect it. I can’t believe (even though I know) there are still guys who assume the other sh*t buys them sex, thus necessitating I say this: if you are going to have sex with me, it has to be because it’s fun and you want to, not because it’s something you owe me. On the same understanding, if you have a place for me to crash in town (platonically or not), and are happy to have me over to spare me the cost of hiring a room, that would be lovely. And yes, if you are poly or open and live with a partner or two, I’m comfortable with that as well.

    This also means you don’t have to live in the LA area to join me for this. If you can get to LA, and don’t mind sharing a room (at my expense), the opportunity remains.” — Richard Carrier, PhD

  4. itsonlyphotos says:

    Is this his sense and goodness. I find thunderf00t annoying and another guy who seems to want to score points by taking on creationists, as if they are challenging interlocutors. Nevertheless, it’s nice to see the vapid materialistic worldview of Dr. Richard Carrier, PhD put on display. This guy is quite revolting. He seems to have limit d the scope of his existence to sex. Even non believers make golden calves.

  5. Michael says:

    Thunderf00t referenced comments made by Carrier that are mostly scrubbed from the internet, except a few places. Here is the more full version which Thunderf00t quoted:

    It wasn’t just a comment – it was a blog post on his old FtB blog. So one day, Carrier is telling us the “evidence” clearly demonstrates that Jesus did not exist, to be followed by a posting soliciting sex from his globe-spanning fans (while making sure they all know he’s really in to females who have had lots and lots of sex).

    It’s interesting that Carrier felt so comfortable to post something like that. It makes you wonder to what degree that atheist activist community enabled such behavior. In fact, to what degree does atheism itself enable such behavior?

  6. Dhay says:

    Richard Carrier > … if you have a place for me to crash in town (platonically or not), and are happy to have me over to spare me the cost of hiring a room, that would be lovely. And yes, if you are poly or open and live with a partner or two, I’m comfortable with that as well.

    I can well imagine that is why Carrier’s plans for a talk venue and finding a “place for me to crash in town” in Chicago (as per the original version of his blog post #11134) “have been waxing and waning”:

    We’re having some difficulty choosing a good venue in Chicago and securing a place for me to crash for the night (plans have been waxing and waning). Anyone in Chicago who wants to help with either, just email me! You might end up getting the free ticket for your efforts.

    https://shadowtolight.wordpress.com/2016/09/26/richard-carrier-suing-pz-myers-and-others-for-over-2-million/#comment-14870

    Carrier did find someone in Chicago liberal-minded enough to put him up, as the now changed blog post #11134 attests: http://www.richardcarrier.info/archives/11134.

    Do be aware, folks, that if you want to quote Carrier you need to do it by actually quoting his words rather than linking; Carrier changes the text of his blog posts when it suits him, omitting the original text; I observe that in this case, doing so would save face.

  7. Dhay says:

    I see that Richard Carrier’s latest blog post is entitled, “Six Arguments That a Multiverse Is More Probable Than a God”: http://www.richardcarrier.info/archives/11288

    It’s a long article, at over 4,000 words, and probably looks impressive to most non-cosmologists. I look forward to the almost inevitable reply by cosmological physicist Luke A Barnes, who I know has looked at (and discounted) multiverse theories in his blog posts and as part of his The Fine-Tuning of the Universe for Intelligent Life paper, and who has already clashed with Carrier over both cosmology and whether Carrier correctly uses — or even understands — Bayes’ Theorem.

    It is long, and might look impressive, but as I summarised a long earlier response here:

    In physics, first Big Bang Denial, then his very own Grand Unified Theory, the[n] Fine Tuning Denial … In each, he was – or still is – way out on a limb proposing fringe views not endorsed or accepted by almost everybody in the community of relevant experts.

    https://shadowtolight.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/quiz-time/#comment-12038

    The non-cosmologists among us might like to reflect that Carrier has a very long and very unimpressive previous history of being slapped down or simply ignored by the physics community — he seems to have got rather miffed about that — when dabbling in cosmology. Take anything Carrier says on cosmology with a big pinch of salt.

  8. stcordova says:

    Dhay: “Do be aware, folks, that if you want to quote Carrier you need to do it by actually quoting his words rather than linking; Carrier changes the text of his blog posts when it suits him, omitting the original text; I observe that in this case, doing so would save face.”

    Good point. Also, his posts at ftb are no longer displayed. I got my quotes from second sources like WinteryKnight that did quote him.

  9. stcordova says:

    “It’s interesting that Carrier felt so comfortable to post something like that. It makes you wonder to what degree that atheist activist community enabled such behavior. In fact, to what degree does atheism itself enable such behavior?”

    I tried to get an answer on the net, but got very few if any solid hits as far as sociological studies.

    Morality aside, there is a health risk at issue both for Carrier and his partners. If he likes sex workers, this is not a safe thing to engage in. Even someone as rich as Charlie Sheen could not avoid contracting HIV. Where is the rationality in following ones desires if they put one and others at serious health risk?

    Also Carrier focuses a lot on alcohol. Where is the scientific rationality in drinking alcohol? I take a drink myself every now and then, but it takes about a year for me to get through 1 or 2 bottles of wine. Harris promotes some drug use.

    I searched to see any sociological studies on atheism and promiscuity and atheism and alcoholism and drug addiction. I could not get any solid hits on atheism and promiscuity, but I did find a few hits on Catholic priests and AIDS. I’m not trying to bash Christian churches, but I’ve had my share of distasteful experiences in churches, so that doesn’t surprise me. It’s amazing I’m still a Christian.

    However, on the general topic of self-control and fulfillment, it seems there is a correlation of atheism and alcoholism and atheism and drug addiction.

    I found a few websites about atheists who hate Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) because of its Christian emphasis, but there were some moving comments by atheists who actually went through AA and lived as a result.

    Atheists like Carrier seem to lack the ability to use rationality to improve their personal lives. He makes a lot of girls uncomfortable with his advances. Ethics should dictate he try to back down.

    Thunderf00t’s video suggests Carrier is on the brink of a personal and professional meltdown. There is a correlation between atheism and suicide as far as I can tell. I googled New Atheism and suicide but couldn’t get any solid hits except some interesting anecdotes.

    I’m probably a Christian today in part because atheists never seemed to give a rational scientific answer to how to find meaning in life. I respect their critical thinking, but I realized I had to find my answers to life elsewhere.

  10. Michael says:

    Good stuff. But I was thinking more in personal terms. Carrier is an atheist, and activist, and a polyamorist. For him, there are all connected. So what is the driving force? One thing seems obvious – his lawsuit pretty clearly shows he is not someone who is led by reason and evidence.

  11. Phile says:

    One of the interesting things here is that FTB still have his blogs. They would be advised to lodge a copy with their legal rep duly notarised. It means that Carrier does not control the record. He has a copy of it, but does not have the source, so he cannot amend the record. I assume that his blogs will form a major part of the defence if this ever goes to court.

    Based on his blogs we have the biggie: the mea culpa where he admits to have transgressed boundaries. In one sense he might claim that it was his statement that he had misread signals in the past and was now modifying his behaviour. On the other hand it:

    * Demonstrates precisely the type of behaviour in the allegations;
    * Demonstrates his previous and possibly continued inability to understand social clues.

    The latter is of value to Myers et al, because it opens up the possibility that there were other transgressions whereby Carrier crossed the boundary without realising, but where his target just extricated themselves from the situation without making him aware. The same is true of the time after his blog post as well. He won’t necessarily be aware of the woman in the restroom talking of how that sleaze hit upon them.

    His mea culpa was the worst form of virtue signalling; it basically consisted of “here’s what I did and I’m sorry about it – sorry enough to dump ashes on my head in public atonement – now enough about me, here’s how *you* can avoid crossing boundaries.”

    There is other stuff there – the apology to Ophelia Benson for the semen play comments which he posted on *her* blog, the admissions of repeated marital infedlity, the unilateral decision to embrace polyamory without telling his wife etc etc. They testify to his general character and behaviour and tend to support the allegations against him. There is also his expressed opposition to the SSA rules governing his behaviour.

    TBH, the guy disgusts me. Fine, let him follow his genitals wherever they take him, but two details of his polyamory thing rankle. One is the above-mentioned rationale for sleeping around while married which was that he became polyamorous. Lots of people cheat, but don’t try to dress it up in a term which only applies when everyone involved is aware. The other is a sign of the narcissistic immature wretch he is. This is where he said that his lovers would be free to describe their experiences with him on the internet. This feeds his ego and would likely be used to reel in his next target. It also turns the knife on his ex-wife.

    He has a lot to lose here; probably no chance ever of a place on the staff of any Uni; perhaps even a ban on speaking at any uni events.

    He is Rook Hawkins with an advanced degree; a boy-man who cannot rein in his impulses.

Leave a Reply

