Jordan Peterson – Beyond Marxism & Postmodernism

I really enjoyed this video.  If you are pressed for time, you can begin at about 6 min in.

This entry was posted in Jordan Peterson, post-modernism, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jordan Peterson – Beyond Marxism & Postmodernism

  1. stcordova says:

    Thanks Michael. I needed to hear that. God bless you.

  2. Michael says:

    Your welcome. I especially liked the last half of the talk. Spot on accurate.

    Peterson’s mannerisms and whole style also seemed familiar to me. And then it hit me. He reminds me of Jimmy Stewart:

  3. stcordova says:

    ” I especially liked the last half of the talk. Spot on accurate. ”

    Exactly! I’ve been dealing with some personal and family health issues. Physical pain and discomfort every day, and anxiety over when might be the last day I might see a loved one. His point about bearing your cross each day was what I needed to hear.

    “He reminds me of Jimmy Stewart”

    By golly, if Jimmy were still alive today and they ever did a biography of Peterson, it would be a good match! Good call.

  4. Michael says:

    Exactly! I’ve been dealing with some personal and family health issues. Physical pain and discomfort every day, and anxiety over when might be the last day I might see a loved one. His point about bearing your cross each day was what I needed to hear.

    You are NOT alone. I’m in the exact same boat. Y’know, if that type of talk was given more regularly at more chuches, they wouldn’t have the problems with church attendance they do.

    The first 20 minutes of that talk are spot on. It’s impressive to see him tie together all these different facets in one stream of consciousness. But the last 10 minutes? Starting at about 24:24. He takes it to a whole other level. There are so many levels of wisdom and insight packed into that 10 minutes it blew my mind. I hope to unpack some of it later.

  5. stcordova says:

    ” Y’know, if that type of talk was given more regularly at more churches, they wouldn’t have the problems with church attendance they do.”

    Agreed, and it’s more fundamental than church attendance, the preachers and pastors and church leaders aren’t helping their parishioners, many times they are hurting them. The church nearly drove out of the Christian faith many times.

    It’s discussions and datapoints like the ones hosted here that helped restore and keep me in the Christian faith…all the way back to our ARN and ISCID days in 2002 and telicthoughts afterward. We go back, you and me, 15 years!

    Peterson mentioned in the talk about getting oneself together so that when one’s Dad passes, one can help in the aftermath. When I began my journey in 2001 regarding these questions, my father was terminally ill and passed in 2003. I was a wreck of a person, and the internet, not so much the churches were my solace. I needed to find my way, and Peterson’s talk is just what the doctor ordered for my life right now, it inspires the resolve I need to keep pressing on and taking care of my mother, my Dad’s widow….

    The post modernist protests on campus are a “feel good, but do nothing productive” religious ritual. The policies they encourage, like imposing 250,000 for violating pronoun guidelines, are damaging to society.

    Peterson lays out what is the productive way each individual in society can function. Postmodernists are a nihilistic copout. His mentioning of the guy with a malfunctioning arm from a motor cycle accident and the guy with Parkinson’s repairing power lines was inspiring. It is a metaphor for the human condition and the right way to cope with victims of circumstances, and Peterson sees all this pointing one of the axioms of western culture, the ultimate victim, Jesus Christ.

  6. stcordova says:

    Peterson is brilliant. This is the best philosophy lecture I ever heard. He references Viktor Frankl and Blaise Pascal in a way that warmed my heart. The following also shows in more detail the process of thought that lead to the lecture featured in the OP. The guy is freaking brilliant!

    I’ve never said that of almost any philosopher except maybe Betrand Russell:

Leave a Reply

