Where would atheist activists be without their double standards?

american-atheistsDanielle Muscato is spokesperson for American Atheists and claims to be a woman.  But back when Danielle was Dave, he had this to say about religion and religious people:

Religion is so dangerous. I want to wake people up. I got into activism because I want to help people—not just people who want our help but people who don’t even know they need help, because they are so indoctrinated.

One of the most common questions we get when people email or call or tweet is “Why not live and let live?” What’s the harm in believing if it makes me happy? Why are you trying to take my hope away from me?

We don’t want to take hope away from you. We want you to see that, rather, it’s *false* hope. False hope is not comforting; it’s delusional. The only way it can feel good is if you disconnect from reality and deceive yourself into forgetting that, deep down, you know it isn’t real. That is not hope and that is not positive for you or for anyone.

The truth is that religion is poison. It attacks people’s minds and spreads like a virus, infecting person after person, generation to generation.

6d87903cd6a37a2ae50aa4860f79ae2c

So if I self-identify as a theist, and in my private feelings, have derived great hope from this identity, Muscato’s job in life is to get me to see my identity and hope are *false* and delusional.  The truth is that I am disconnected from reality, deceiving myself, and am the victim of a dangerous, poisonous virus.

Isn’t this transparent hypocrisy?

If only the delusional theists could be cured of their poison and viruses by all that atheist activism.  Then they too can wallow on the intellectual inconsistency and intellectual dishonesty that is so common among the atheist activists.  After all, it’s not as if there is any transcendent reason to stand on principle, now is there. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Where would atheist activists be without their double standards?

  1. Ape in a Cape says:

    Oh, the irony of it all. Consider the following quote from Muscato:

    The only way it can feel good is if you disconnect from reality and deceive yourself into forgetting that, deep down, you know it isn’t real. That is not hope and that is not positive for you or for anyone.

    Allow me rephrase it so that the hypocritical self-deception is explicit:

    The only way I can feel good is if I disconnect from reality and deceive myself into forgetting that, deep down, I know I’m really not a woman. That is not hope and that is not positive for me or for anyone.

    Muscato has replaced the transcendent with the transgender.

  2. itsonlyphotos says:

    Is it just me or has the world really gotten even more insane this last few years?

  3. Dhay says:

    The Dave Muscato post exists in two places: at the American Atheists site it attracted six comments from five people; as a guest post on JT Eberhard’s wwjtd blog next day it attracted six comments from just two people. Four of the total were Christian — the wwjtd copy post got a long and detailed intelligently critical response from one — while only three were atheists.

    That’s an interesting contrast, in both tone and volume, with the flood of echo-chamber mindlessness you get at Jerry Coyne’s blog, or at Hemant Mehta’s.

  4. TFBW says:

    Another aspect of the hypocrisy on show here is the fact that he’s engaging in blatant fear-mongering. Examine the language he uses to talk about religion — how it all takes for granted that religion is not just false, but also a terrible, toxic, dangerous thing. If a small fraction of the same language and prejudices were targeted at atheism, he would be so up in arms about it, don’t you think? One rule for me, another for thee.

    That’s aside from the fact that he postures as a champion of wisdom and reason while spouting raw propaganda. Either he is an effective reasoner, in which case he’s cynically omitting proper argument for rhetorical purposes, or he isn’t an effective reasoner, in which case he’s as delusional as the people he ostensibly wants to “save”. Take your pick.

  5. Mechanar says:

    If they really believed that faith is ten times more dangerous than the atomic bomb. I would not waste my time to troll on the net

  6. Mechanar says:

    I meant they

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.